Category Page: News

    Annual Lecture in The Arts by Rev. Prof. J. Kwabena Asamoah-Gyadu

    GAAS Inaugural Lecture: Justice Sir Dennis Adjei Charges Ghanaians to be Circumspect When Buying Lands

    Justice of the Appeals Court of Ghana, Justice Sir Dennis Dominic Adjei, FGA has charged Ghanaians to be careful when buying lands as “land buying is not like buying a shirt on the market”. He gave these remarks at his Inaugural Lecture on the topic: “The Changing Trends in Land Law, Policy, Governance, and Management

    Hon. Amankwah Asiamah Calls for Compensation for Teachers in the Rural Areas

    Hon. Amankwah Asiamah Calls for Compensation for Teachers in the Rural Areas The Parliamentary Select Committee Chair on Education, Hon. Amankwah Asiamah, Member of Parliament for Fanteakwa North Constituency, has admitted that there will always be lapses in Ghana’s educational system unless teachers, especially those in the rural areas, are economically motivated. The Member of

    Emeritus Professor Samuel Sefa-Dedeh Takes Over GAAS Presidency

    EMERITUS PROFESSOR SAMUEL SEFA-DEDEH TAKES OVER GAAS PRESIDENCY Her Ladyship, Justice Professor Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, JSC, FGA has handed over the office of President of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences (GAAS) to Emeritus Prof. Samuel Kofi Sefa-Dedeh, FGA for the period 2021-2022. The changing of batons took place at a brief ceremony held at


    On Tuesday, 26 May, 2020, Professor Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu became the 5th female to be sworn into office as justice of the Supreme Court. The President of the Academy was sworn in alongside Justice Emmanuel Yonny Kulendi, by the President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. “You have met the stringent requirements of article 128

    Prof. Yankah elected member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences

    The Minister of State in charge of Tertiary Education, Professor Kwesi Yankah has been elected to the membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AMACAD). A letter, jointly signed by the Chair of the Board, Nancy C. Andrews and the President, David W. Oxtoby, and addressed to the Minister of State, announced his